It’s been awhile since I’ve posted one of these (my good intentions seem to dwindle quickly)…

Here was today’s:

The devotional.  In Sunday School, we were studying Alma 37 – which is a chapter jam packed with good stuff (it has been my sole chapter of study since then).  I really like verse 36:
“Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and whithersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts be directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever.”
I think many important principles are included in this scripture:
– Pray for support from God – we cannot do it alone.
– Let ALL thy doings be unto the Lord – we cannot go wrong if we are doing the Lord’s will.
– Wherever we go, let it be in the Lord – this is weird, but EVEN in Utah.  Often, I find myself not doing the same things in Utah because it feels really cheesy – for example, I just bought a mini Book of Mormon to carry in my purse (it’s revolutionized my life), but I feel SO DORKY reading the Book of Mormon in public in Utah, but never dorky anywhere else.  Not a legit excuse.
– Always think of the Lord – for another devotional one day, I’ll have to bring up some scriptures Nephi wrote about ALL things pointing to Christ.
– Let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever – I think the best way to love the Lord is to recognize His hand in our lives.  Counting our blessings.  Like [was it Oaks?] said in Conference last year that everyday he wrote down ways in which the Lord was evident in his life.

Anyways, maybe one day I’ll write a devotional as long as Pappy…
The Church is true; don’t do drugs; write David letters (I’m so bummed he lost by one!!).

Love.Whitney

