So, on Sunday, Brad and I decided to switch devotional days.  Naturally, it’s Thursday night at 11:40 pm, and Brad informed me that I should write a devotional since he hasn’t done one yet, and Thursday really is my day.

SO…. here we go.
A story: Cody broke his collar bone today at his flag football game (and apparently an ambulance AND a fire truck were sent to retrieve him).  We were talking tonight and he told me that while he was in the ambulance, he asked the EMTs (I’m assuming that’s what they were so that’s what I’ll call them) to give him a blessing.  How cool is that?!  It is one of the upsides to living in Provo.

I am very grateful that those EMTs were worthy and ready to give Cody a blessing when he needed one.  I am glad to know that if needed, I can ask my husband to use the Priesthood to give me a blessing.

This “readiness” applies to all of us, not to Priesthood holders only.  In high school, it seemed that there was an unforeseen death almost annually.  Because of this, I gained a broadened perspective on this life.  I was constantly reminded that we must always live in accordance with the gospel and try to be our very best.

In Section 78 of the Doctrine and Covenants, we are reminded of our need to prepare:
7 For if you will that I give unto you a place in the acelestial world, you must bprepare yourselves by cdoing the things which I have commanded you and required of you.

Let’s all work hard to be ready to live in the Celestial Kingdom!

