I just read this fascinating article by Martin Luther King, Jr.’s niece, Dr. Alveda King, about Obama’s election and our need to stand up for our beliefs.  Now we all know I don’t read, so obviously, if I read it, it must be good.

Her rhetoric is superb and thank heavens she’s related to Martin Luther King, Jr. so finally people might listen to reason.  One of my favorite quotes came in the beginning of her article:

[On Obama being elected] “It strikes a blow to white guilt, because hundreds of thousands of white people voted for him to prove that they were not racists. It gives blacks who voted for him hope, because there has never been a black president of America.”

Now, the point of my posting this is not to Obama-bash.  Obama is President-Elect, and I do believe that as the President of the United States of America, he deserves my respect.  However, that does not mean that I believe in or support his policies and/or viewpoints.  I WILL give him credit where credit is due: he is a very talented speaker; he inspired many people to vote who have not been involved in elections prior; he does have a good presence; and I hope that he will be able to represent the American people with honor, dignity, and justice.  However, because of my morals and ethics, there are some things I cannot compromise.

In her article, Dr. King brings up valuable points that were brought to my attention before the election; those points are part of the reason I was more fearful than hopeful with November 4th’s results.  Obama is a strong supporter of abortion in all of its forms.  That includes third trimester abortion, which is practically the equivalent of birthing a two month premature baby and leaving it to die, alone and unwanted.  (Brad read portions of the book The Case Against Obama to me)  In King’s article, she sinisterly jokes that “the Freedom of Choice Act . . . should be renamed the No Limits on Abortion Act.”  Obama also plans to “overturn the Defense of Marriage Act” even though it has gained support in the majority of the states (see here for an overview of the states’ marriage laws).

Most importantly, Dr. King calls us to action.

“Now is the time to remind our members of Congress that to give President Elect Obama the gift of FOCA to sign will be a very costly gift. We must demand that our elected representatives defeat FOCA, reminding them that what America needs is a new stream of brave Congress members committed to upholding the Civil Rights of all Americans, from the womb to natural death. In other words, tell your congress members that a vote for FOCA may spell their last session in Congress. A vote to overturn DOMA spells the end of the honeymoon.”

Now, there are two things that one must know about me: 1: I am not very knowledgeable on how to be involved in causes I support and believe in, but I am willing to find out, and 2: I am not usually vocal about my opinions, so this is a first for me (I have them, but I’ve always had an “I’ll believe what I will and you believe what you will” attitude).  I still find myself to be respectful to those who believe differently than I do, and hope that others can respect my beliefs if they differ from theirs.  Nonetheless, I realize that now is the time to stand up and be counted and actively fight for the things I hold dear.

I’m going to research things to do (like emailing Congress – since they MAKE the laws, really, a lot of these decisions lie on their shoulders), and in the meantime, go read that article.

to be continued…

(unattributed quotes came from the aforementioned article)

