Grand Cayman

This is kind of long, so here’s the deal. It’s a quote, then two examples, then a summary. So rather than feel

overwhelmed by all my rambling, don’t even feel bad if you only read to the bolded quote and the last paragraph.

In Relief Society on Sunday, we were talking about… something, and I’m not even sure what inspired this thought (perhaps the mention of a girl who saw Twilight 30 times in theatres – which most people found to be a waste

of time and money), but I’ve been thinking about it all week.

Remember Dallin H Oaks’s talk from October 2007 General Conference entitled Good, Better, Best ? That thought has been on my mind all week – the idea that we are often manuevered into replaced better or best things with good ones. He begins by saying,

“We should begin by recognizing the reality that just because something is good is not a sufficient reason for doing it… Some things are better than good, and these are the things that should command priority attention in our lives.”

I’ve been thinking about decisions I’ve made in the past five years-ish that have significantly changed my lif

e for the better, or perhaps the best. In high school, I had determined that I wanted to be a doctor, or a nurse practitioner (it’s like the in-between of a PA and a doctor), and bring good to the world by practicing the healer’s art. I had ideas of joining the Peace Corps, or doing service in Haiti, or in South America. These were all “good” goals. I wanted to give service to the world. But getting married and having a family didn’t fit into this life I had planned, and were crossed off of the to-do list. A Personal Progress goal on motherhood had me researching and studying the divin

ity of motherhood and womanhood. This experience changed my outlook forever. I realized the need for mothers who focus on their role in the lives of their children. And I realized that although I had good intentions, there were better ones that I could pursue.

Another experience was one I’ve discussed often in my devotionals, the death of a friend. This tragedy helped me to realize the importance of human relationships. I was so consumed in doing good in school that I had overlooked the people in my life. I know it’s a personal decision that isn’t true all across the board, but I feel strongly that building strong relationships with our family and close friends is much more important than getting straight A’s, or the

highest paying job, or working a ton (granted, I see the need to have a family provider, but like Elder Oaks said in his talk, “I have never known of a man who looked back on his working life and said, ‘I just didn’t spend enough time with my job.'”). This principle has blessed and simplified my life in ways I never would have known. When a choice to help a sibling comes up, regardless of the school work or other demands on me, I can choose to nurture our relationship. The other details of life work themselves out just fine.

I really enjoyed rereading this article (and it’s right before the talk that Kelli’s devotional quote came from…

coincidence?). There are so many principles that make life choices seem so much easier to decide. I hope that throughout our lives, we can weigh our decisions against the scale of if we are doing something that is good, better, or best.

Like, not doing drugs is good, but reading the scriptures instead of doing drugs is better, while perhaps shari

ng your testimony of the scriptures instead of doing drugs is the best…

love.whitney

Grand Cayman
