I thought all day yesterday about what to write for a devotional but came up with nothing.
then today I remembered an article I read for my ethics class, which happens to be one of my all-time favorite church articles.

In President Ezra Taft Benson’s article, “Beware of Pride” (which I know I’ve used before, hence the favoritism), he has a great quote:
“The proud depend upon the world to tell them whether they have value or not. Their self-esteem is determined by where they are judged to be on the ladders of worldly success. . . [Pride] says, “If you succeed, I am a failure.”

We had discussions in class about people’s views of self worth and how unstable people can be if their worth is based on these worldly principles. It’s so sad to think that someone could feel like a failure, regardless of their talents and worth, because someone else is succeeded.

So how do we fight pride: humility.

Tune in next week for thoughts on how to be humble from our very own President Benson.

Until then, don’t be prideful and love your neighbor. And don’t do drugs.

love.whitney

