Joan Crawford knew what was up when she said these epic words:

“I think the most important thing a woman can have – next to talent, of course – is her hairdresser.”

Granted, it’s been MONTHS (6+ to be exact) since I have been able to traipse in Vegas long enough for a visit to Amrita, and it was about time we did something about my long nasty locks.

Ridiculous.

So my cousin Dayna hooked me up with a recommendation in Salt Lake and I’m getting my herr did today. However, it ALWAYS makes me nervous to try out a new hairstylist. My visits to Amrita go a little like this:

“Oh hi! What do you want to do today?”

“Umm… something fun and different, nothing short and dikey, let’s keep the length (or chop it or dye it out in a funky color or give it a chunk of bleach).”

“Are you open to bangs/dye/something awesome?”

::answer::

“I know JUST the thing! [insert explanation of amazingness]”

Hair is washed.

Hair is cut.

Hair is styled.

“I did

. Style it the same way as usual. Here’s a mirror so you can see the back.”

I beam and hold back tears of joy.

She is LITERALLY a genius/artist. I let her do whatever because she knows what will look good better than I do.

Naturally, a lot of hairstylists aren’t used to having this kind of freedom/responsibility. It’s all in her hands and what she thinks would look best. I’ve known her longer than I’ve known my husband so she kind of gets my style/has seen it evolve.

If I’m feeling like I do now on my next trip, this is how my conversation will begin: “I’m feeling blah because I’m uber pregnant, and I want to look like a rockstar, and I especially want to look good when the baby gets here in about a month. And we need to leave the dye out for when we go blonde this September.”

To which I’m sure she’ll respond, “I know JUST the thing. It’s going to be so cute!” And then she’ll work her magic and I’ll be impressed.

So pray for me today as I embark on this new experience for both me and my cousin’s hairdresser.

