Alaska from Flat Top Mountain

I’ve been in a sort of funk lately. I’m not sure where it’s coming from, but I’m certain it relates to a lack of sleep as all things that are out of sorts in my life do. And this “funk” leads me to listen to a lot of 90s alternative rock on Pandora (a station created based on “The Freshmen” by the Verve Pipe). It’s a lot of Train and Matchbox Twenty and Nine Days and Everclear and Collective Soul? I didn’t even know I was a Collective Soul fan. This will most likely mingle with angsty 90s girl songs by Natalie Imbruglia and Alanis Morissette.

This “funk” and/or the 90s alt rock is fueling an imaginary vacation. An escape from my lovely, light filled home for a more moody atmosphere. Like this. I want to visit a modern cabin on a lake, something that looks like Martin+Osa (RIP oh Martin+Osa, why did you leave me?) with a pursetop* and steamed milk, wrapped in a giant cashmere scarf and wearing furry slippers. Something with the vibe of Banana Republic’s new ad campaign, but in retreat form. I want to write and read and sleep. Maybe do some yoga. Maybe just sit in the silence and think. Breathe crisp air and sleep in big fluffy comforters. Self-timer my own photos. Eat soup. Plan my wardrobe. And listen to my 90s station on Pandora. I highly recommend that.

*I always forget that I made up the word pursetop. Basically those mini laptops that are small enough to fit inside of a purse.